federal and provincial Departments of Agriculture. The Committee meets quarterly to determine how the work of these Departments may be co-ordinated and directed through integrated agricultural policies and with minimum duplication of services.

New Brunswick.—Provincial government agricultural policy in New Brunswick is directed by the Department of Agriculture. The Department is headed by the Minister of Agriculture who is assisted by a Deputy Minister and the Directors of the following Branches: extension, livestock, dairy, veterinary, poultry, horticulture, field husbandry, potato and plant protection, agricultural engineering, home economics, credit union and co-operative, and agricultural education.

Quebec.—The Quebec Department of Agriculture and Colonization comprises seven large services: production and marketing; farm management; research, education and information; rural engineering; colonization; administration; and rural planning (ARDA). Each service has divisions and sections, each dealing with particular problems.

In addition, various special organizations are under the jurisdiction of the Department: the Agricultural Marketing Board, the Farm Credit Bureau, the Rural Electrification Bureau, the Veterinary Science School, the Quebec Sugar Refining (St. Hilaire), the Deschambault Farm School, the Artificial Insemination Centre for Cattle (St. Hyacinthe), the Provincial Dairy School (St. Hyacinthe), the Dairy Industry Commission and the Agricultural Research Council. The latter is an advisory body composed of representatives of the agricultural institutions, of the federal and provincial Departments of Agriculture and of agricultural organizations. It does not operate laboratories but promotes research in all fields of agriculture through grants paid to agricultural faculties in the province; such research projects are supervised by university personnel. The Council also conducts a program of bursaries to induce graduates in scientific agriculture to pursue specialized studies. The findings of research projects sponsored by the Department are published in *Recherches agronomiques*.

The agricultural co-operative movement is very extensive in Quebec: 467 co-operatives have 70,769 members, 87 agricultural societies have 28,078 members, and 369 agricultural clubs have 17,247 members; 754 farm women's clubs have a total membership of 40,000 women and young girls; and there are 145 young farmers' clubs with a membership of 3,300 boys and 1,315 girls.

Every year a competition is held for the Agricultural Merit Order to ascertain the personal merit of the farmers who have most distinguished themselves in the agricultural field and can serve as examples. The annual competition is held successively in the five regions into which the province is divided. Each contest lasts five years and covers the various farm enterprises of the competitor. County Farm Improvement Contests have also been held for 30 years at the county and parish level; they tend to promote better methods of culture and farm management and to increase farm income. By early 1963, 8,500 farmers had benefited from them.

Ontario.—The Ontario Department of Agriculture provides financial assistance and administrative services through its Head Office, 11 branches and two Experimental Farms, and through research and extension work conducted under the direction of the Ontario Research Institute as well as that under way at the Ontario Agricultural College, the Ontario Veterinary College, Macdonald Institute, Western Ontario Agricultural School, Kemptville Agricultural School and the Horticultural Experiment Station.

The administration of the Department is under the supervision of a Deputy Minister with the assistance of two Assistant Deputy Ministers. The Ontario Agricultural College, the Ontario Veterinary College and Macdonald Institute (the Federated Colleges of Ontario) report to the Minister and Deputy Minister. The Research Institute is the responsibility of the Director of Research who, in turn, reports to the Deputy Minister. During 1962 a new office was established to develop programs under the Agricultural